Summer Solstice

June 21 is summer solstice. It was an absolutely beautiful day, but also our longest day. I had these grand plans to get up with the sun to show when the sun rises up here, but I couldn’t manage to get myself out of bed at 4:43am. My deepest apologies.

2014-06-21 13.55.43We did decide to participate in National Picnic Week and pack a lunch to enjoy in Kew Gardens. I was worried it was going to be packed with people, but Kew is so big, it could have thousands of people and you would still have acres to yourself.

Of all the places in London, I do believe Kew Gardens is my favorite place. 

We enjoyed a lazy Saturday reading under a large tree and 2014-06-21 13.55.56watching the ducks waddling around. As I’ve mentioned time and time again, Jeff loves to feed the wildlife from horses to peacocks, he makes it a point to have food on him at all times.

2014-06-21 15.32.10We wandered around the park some more and went inside the Rainforest green house. The simulated monkey noises were unnecessary, but it was pretty cool to walk inside and feel the humidity. Felt like being back in Texas.

But just outside of the large house was a nest! We saw a mother goose 2014-06-21 15.34.13 (insert fairy tale joke here) guarding her nest with two eggs inside. That was pretty cool to see.

 

2014-06-21 16.04.16Before we left for the day, I had to check out the Gin and Tonic garden that was a part of the Plantasia event going on this month. There was a tiny bar set up in the Secluded Garden area that had a menu of several different mixes. I chose the Rose Garden drink and we sat next to a slate fountain to enjoy it.

 

The sun didn’t set until 9:23pm leaving the sky still bright at 10pm. I at least got Jeff to snap of picture out our window of that.

2014-06-21 21.54.31

 

Now, this was not the first time we went to Kew Gardens. I actually go quite frequently for some peace and time to study, but I realize I didn’t post any pictures from the Orchid Show we went to at the end of February. Please feel free to look through my pictures from the Kew Gardens Orchid Bonanza.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

