Producing It’s Not Custard

Ever since I was a child, I’ve wanted to make movies. Well, that’s not completely true. First, I wanted to be a doctor. No joke, I was researching colleges and even high school programs to pursue being a doctor. I remember exactly why too. I had just seen Patch Adams and thought, man, that looks like fun.

After realizing that dissecting animals was one of the first things in the to do list of becoming an MD, I said a hard and fast no and searched around for another profession. That’s where the idea of the military floated through my brain. Again, I had done the research and figured out the path I would take. But this was due to a lieu of military films that crossed my television screen. It took a while, but eventually I realized I wanted to be in the military…in a movie. I wanted to be a doctor…in a movie.

Then a high school teacher of mine handed me a camera and some editing software, and the new dream was born. I had such fun filming little things from two-minute chase scenes to my first fiction piece about a day in the life of a penny to a documentary about military films (see how that came full circle?) Because of my passion, I was asked with a couple other students to film a PSA of sorts for the 10 year anniversary of our high school communication program. What an incredible opportunity to have and start the foray into a professional career.

I attended the University of Texas at Austin and pursued a degree in film production making another dozen short films and crewing in every position possible from sound recording, location manager, script supervisor, director, editor, and producer. And it’s with producing I found my true niche and passion. That’s where I fit like a glove. But by the time I graduated, the company I was interning with wound up breaking up and Robert Rodriguez had been seduced by Los Angeles leaving the Austin film industry pretty dry. I transitioned into book publishing for five years.

While I succeeded in the producing aspect (imagine that), I knew this wasn’t my true passion. I itched to get back into film, but I had no idea how to get there.

You know in the romantic comedy films, there is always a moment where the hero meets the heroine and everything just clicks? Well, that is precisely what happened to me. I met my prince charming and he swept me off my feet. Within a year of meeting this man, we were married and in another country beginning our new life together. You can’t make this stuff up.

Now, I was in another country without a single career prospect sitting at home twiddling my thumbs. Jeff and I took a walk around our new neighborhood one night, and I saw a street sign pointing to Ealing Studios. I had absolutely no idea what Ealing Studios was or what went on there. I immediately looked it up and just like that, the flame was reignited and I knew this was my chance to chase the dream. I mean, dreams are what got us to London in the first place.

Through a few hoops and months, I made a connection with a British filmmaker, Kate McCoid. She had written a short script and needed a producer. The stars aligned and it was a great chance to hit the ground running. Since then, we’ve been working furiously in getting this project off the ground. We have a strong female team of filmmakers including the cinematographer, set designer, SFX make up artist, and even first assistant director. We thought we were a perfect fit for the iShorts+Funny Girls film grant put through Creative England. But we knew it was a good chance we would have to pursue the crowdfunding route if we weren’t short listed for the grant.

Just this last Monday, we have launched our campaign to some amazing success so far raising over £3,150 in the first few days. But we are hoping to get to our next financial milestone of £5,000 in the second week! We are so close, but also with the first week down, we have three more weeks to get the rest of our £10,000 budget.

We have a long way to go, but with the help of our friends and family, we have already raised a large chunk of what we need. And now we are featured in the local newspaper and women in film blogs!

For my readers, please check out our link and donate or share our campaign. Without you, we wouldn’t be able to get this movie made. It really is an incredible thing when the online community comes together to help support local art and filmmaking!

Thanks, as always, for reading!

5 thoughts on “Producing It’s Not Custard

Leave a Reply

