Recipe: Vegetarian Chili

Since moving to London, I have gotten into such a habit of cooking meat and vegetables. It’s been the same thing every day for lunch and dinner for the past year with bouts of inspiration every now and then. One day, Jeff came home and said, “We need to start limiting the meat.” So, much to his chagrin, I took him seriously.

I did some research to find a vegetarian chili recipe that had me going to the store multiple times in one afternoon to try new things and make the dish my own, but what came of it was actually quite tasty. I also decided to try out this new thing called “Vine.” I’m sure most of you have heard of it. 

For your entertainment pleasure, I have included my first compilation, so I know it’s not great. I’ll work on making them better in the future. But cooking has always been a passion for me and even if my recipe is only one in a zillion out there, at least I’m contributing my spin.

350g of cooked quinoa
1 tbsp of olive oil
70g of red onion (diced)
4 cloves of garlic (minced)
800g of canned tomatoes (2 cans, diced)
142g of tomato paste (1 can)
2 cups of water (or vegetable broth)
1 japaleño (minced and seeded)
1 tbsp of ground cumin
2 tsp of cocao powder (not to be confused with hot cocoa mix)
1 1/2 tsp of smoked paprika
1/2 tsp of granulated sugar
1 tbsp of cayenne pepper
Salt and Pepper to taste
250g kidney beans (1 can, drained)
520g black beans (2 cans, drained)
1 tbsp of fresh lime juice

In a large pot, heat the olive oil for a couple of minutes while dicing up the onion. With the pot warm, saute the onion for a couple of minutes until tender. Add the garlic cloves and stir quickly so they don’t burn.

Add the diced tomatoes, tomato paste, quinoa, water (or broth), japaleño, carrots, and spice blend and bring to a boil. This will take about 5-10 minutes. Once the pot begins to boil, lower the heat and cover for 30 minutes stirring occasionally.

Fold in the beans and lime juice just until it’s cooked through, about 5 minutes.

Garnish with what you like: avocado, sour cream, cheese, croutons. The world is your oyster!

Note: if you want to make a heartier version of this, replace the cooked quinoa for cooked ground turkey, beef, lamb, or my favorite: bison.

Vegetarian Chili

One thought on “Recipe: Vegetarian Chili

Leave a Reply

