May Challenge #EmbracingBeauty

In my ever-increasingly busy life, I’ve been finding more and more excuses to put off the blog. Jeff and I are continuing to travel around Europe, but that’s not the only thing we’re doing, and I’m trying to budget the time to talk about it. Granted, our day-to-day lives are probably not as interesting as we think. Living in London is still amazing and rewarding, but we do the same things we did in Texas like grocery shop, pay bills, do work…so what makes that worth reading about? 

On the other hand, I can’t leave my blog empty month to month in between travels. That made me think more about what this blog is for. At first it was a way to communicate with my friends and family back home all at once about our crazy escapades in this foreign country during our first years of marriage. But then it transitioned into an almost diary of events so I wouldn’t forget our astonishing memories from our travels.

When people ask us what our favorite country is or our most memorable memory, I want to be able to remember everything I can. I don’t want anything to slip through the cracks of time or answer with images that are the most fresh. Also, the need will be even more important as the years go by and our London life becomes a memory.

But since we aren’t traveling for the next few weeks, I’m going to adopt a challenge I saw and incorporate it with this blog.

2015-04-10 21.15.42

Every day for the month of May, I will take a photo and post it here with a single sentence or memory to associate with it in the name of “embracing beauty.” I think this will be a great way to slow down and remember the things that make you happy, but also help in differentiate the day-by-day.

More often than not, people rush through their daily lives and forget to take a moment to remember Monday versus Tuesday let alone last Thursday.

And who knows, maybe it’ll spark some creative juices. You can follow me on the blog, Twitter or Instagram as @alisonwroby with #embracingbeauty as the hashtag. Go forth and take pictures.

Leave a Reply

