Day 1: Me #embracingbeauty

So, today is day 1 of the 31 day #embracingbeauty challenge that I have decided to embrace. I can’t imagine being in a city this gorgeous and not taking advantage of the surroundings and showing them to the world.

Well, as luck would have it, day 1 is supposed to represent me. Great…

I’ve never been one to flaunt pictures of myself or talk about myself much. I’d rather deflect attention to what I do rather than who I am. But then I started to think about why that was. I’ve been embarrassed about my body for as long as I can remember. And while I feel like the anti-body shaming revolution is great for body acceptance, it gives me the opposite feeling.

I just feel reminded.

Since moving to London, I have gained and lost about fifteen pounds. It’s been the last month that Jeff and I have started a strict detox or “lifestyle” that has actually been great and rewarding in more ways than one.

I’m not where I want to be yet, but I have found I’m much more accepting than I was four weeks ago. So with that in mind, I’m posting a picture of me at the gym working hard to get to my goal–the goal I have been working toward for fifteen years. But I will draw the line at posting my before picture. That does not need to live on the internet.
2015-04-30 10.17.06 2015-04-30 10.17.30

But that’s enough about “me.” This is me. Here is to #embracingbeauty.

Leave a Reply

