Thanksgiving Edition: Brussels Sprouts

For some strange reason, the British do not celebrate Thanksgiving. It must be a sore subject with America breaking away from the motherland and all. But we have not let the holiday go, and this year, I plan on making a full spread of Thanksgiving goodies and traditions.

2015-11-18 17.39.00

Every year, my parents would go all out for Thanksgiving. It was usually just the four of us, but that didn’t stop Dad from doing the full bird, all of the sides, appetizers, and desserts.

I remember the year we fried the turkey in the backyard. We would go and watch it in shifts so it wouldn’t explode all over the lawn. I recall the year I made cranberry sauce from Alton Brown’s recipe without reading how many servings it made. We had cranberry sauce for two months. I also remember fondly the first time I made Thanksgiving dinner for my parents and my husband.

I had invited my parents and sister over, and I was fully prepared to be a domestic goddess. Newly married and preparing to move to London with Jeff, I basted the bird in red wine, made cauliflower mashed potatoes, and served my all time favorite Brussels sprouts salad.

2015-11-18 17.42.15

The dinner was a hit! I was so proud of my small accomplishment that now all I want to do is keep improving my recipes and technique for the massively competitive culinary holiday.

This year, I have done some experimenting with the amazing green sprout. I have found a couple recipes from Abel and Cole, the local organic food delivery company, that I have adapted and whipped up just for the occasion.

For my previous Roasted Brussels Sprouts recipe, check out this link.

* * * * *

Indian and Lime Shredded Sprouts
adapted from Abel and Cole
makes 4-6 servings

Ingredients:2015-11-18 17.45.35
400g Brussels sprouts
1 lime, zest and juice
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 tbsp olive oil
2 tsp whole cumin seeds
2 tsp whole mustard seeds
1 jalapeno, chopped
1 tbsp fresh ginger, grated
A bunch of parsley or mint, chopped

Directions:
1) Using a mandolin (very carefully), shred the sprouts into a large bowl. I say carefully because I always find a way to take a layer of skin off my fingers with this dangerous tool. But it’s very useful.
2) Pour the olive oil, lime juice and zest into the sprouts and mix thoroughly. Let it sit and marinate while you toast the seeds.
3) In a hot skillet, toast the seeds until they are fragrant. Once the smell is permeating the kitchen, pop the heat down to low and pour the sprouts in the skillet with the jalapeno and ginger. Heat just for about 3 minutes to take the edge off the lime, ginger, and jalapeno. If you prefer the raw taste, feel free to not heat the veggies.
4) Plate and sprinkle the parsley, mint, marjoram, or whatever if your favorite herb and enjoy!

2015-11-18 18.12.15

* * * * *

Roasted Parmesan Sprouts
adapted from Abel and Cole
makes 4-6 servings

Ingredients:2015-11-19 17.41.27
500g Brussels sprouts
1/2 white onion, sliced
1 lemon, zest and juice
Sea salt and pepper to taste
1 tbsp thyme
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp muscovado sugar
50g grated Parmesan
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped (optional)

Directions:
1) Trim the bottom part of the stem (about 1/8 inch) from the bottom of each sprout and then cut in half.
2) In a large bowl, combine the trimmed sprouts with the rest of the ingredients (except the Parmesan) and let it sit for about 10 minutes to marinate.
3) In a pre-heated oven of 400 degrees Fahrenheit or 200 degrees Celsius, pour the contents of the bowl on a lined baking pan and roast for about 20 minutes, until golden brown.  The sugar will caramelize the sprouts a bit.
4) Spritz the sprouts with a touch of lemon and grate the cheese over the top. Serve and enjoy.

2015-11-19 18.13.37

* * * * *

What are your traditional dishes for Thanksgiving? Also, please share your favorite holiday memories!
I hope you and your families have a wonderful Thanksgiving. 

Leave a Reply

